Week 5 Error Atlas- Implement Conversations with DynamoDB

This post is a catalogue of (almost) every single error I fought through while following along the Week 5 tutorial lecture to implement the chat room functions using DynamoDB.

  • The errors are listed in chronological order, so it is possible that other campers met with one of the errors listed here might be greeted by other errors in a similar order.

  • This post is currently evolving to update all the solution to every single error listed here. I hope it helps.

Error

On Messages page, the individual messages are not showing in the chat room. (Disclaimer: as of writing this blog post (May 14, 2023), I have NOT earned the red squad badge. It's just my imagination)

  • On Messages page, the individual messages are not showing in the chat room. (Disclaimer: as of writing this blog post (May 14, 2023), I have NOT earned the red squad badge. It's just my imagination)

Troubleshooting lists

update_cognito_user_ids

  • TypeError: unhashable type: 'dict' (1)

  • SOLVED - return model (1)

1:08:43 Reverse sorting messages

  • KeyError: 'credential_provider' (1)